Can’t Play Forever

This past semester, I made a tough decision: I decided to stop playing football. There are many reasons why, but the long and the short of it was that I had just out-grown it. The saying comes to mind, “You can’t play forever.” So I decided to return to just being a regular, old Cadet, well as regular and normal as we Cadets can be(We tend to be a bit strange when juxtaposed with normal society).

Now, we have a wide variety of club sports. Everything from rugby to croquet team last year. It’s a variable cornucopia of activities to choose from.

Still being an athletic guy, I wanted to find something to do with my afternoons to keep in shape and to provide a break from my studies and whatnot. And having been interested in Asian culture, especially martial arts for a while now, I decided to join the Martial Arts Club. Luckily, I knew the cadet in charge of the club. So now I’m a karateka, and I enjoy the hell out of it.

I also joined the Cadet Battery, one of the oldest organizations on Post. It was started under the tutelage of Thomas “Stonewall” Jackson. In fact the original cannons used by Jackson to teach artillery still stand in front of his statue. They were custom-made to be light yet still powerful. Jackson named them after the four gospels: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. The lore surrounding their naming is that Jackson believed they spoke with authority much like the authors of the four gospels. We no longer use the cannons though, they have long since become too much of a treasure and have passed into antiquity. Today we use a handful of 105mm Howitzers on loan from the Army.

The Evening Gun

One comment on “Can’t Play Forever

  1. […] Marching Post created an interesting post today on Can’t Play ForeverHere’s a short outline […]

Leave a Reply

