New Market

I was rummaging through old photos on my hard drive today and ran across some photos of New Market day here at the Institute and at the Battlefield. Last year I was the commander of the firing party/honor guard for the event, which meant that myself along with seven other cadets performed a gun salute for the ten Cadets who died at the Battle of New Market on May 15, 1864. While I’ve marched in the annual parade, I had never been asked to participate in a ceremonial role before. It was a great honor and the riflemen did an outstanding job.

The New Market Honor Guard at parade rest.

The New Market Honor Guard at parade rest.

This entry was posted in VMI.

Leave a Reply

